Skip to main content

Kris Schell Memorial Clinical Excellence Award


In memory of Kris Schell: April 18, 1971 – February 18, 2012

Each year Athletico Physical Therapy awards a clinician the Kris Schell Clinical Excellence Award. The purpose of the Clinical Excellence Award is to honor the memory of Kris Schell by recognizing an outstanding clinician each year who demonstrates a passion for self-directed learning, actively exploring cutting-edge, evidence-based, quality treatment trends. The individual selected for this annual award is a clinical leader who takes professional development to the next level, challenges our current thought processes, and raises the bar in his or her quest for clinical excellence. This person is recognized as a clinical role model by their peers due to their excellence in patient care and passion for professional development that they consistently display.

Kristine Cecila Schell joined our team on May 23, 2005 as a hand therapist in the Festus, Missouri clinic. Kris received a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and a Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy from Maryville University in St. Louis in 1997 and earned her credentials as a Certified Hand Therapist in 2003. In April 2011, she was promoted to Assistant Clinic Director for the Festus clinic. After a courageous battle with leukemia and lymphoma, Kris lovingly said goodbye to this world on February 18, 2012. During her tenure Kris modeled the clinical excellence exemplified by this award. She was a resourceful and passionate therapist who continually strived to acquire new knowledge, demonstrating a high level of motivation in her own professional development. It’s through this passion for learning that she enthusiastically sought out opportunities to share her knowledge with her colleagues. From her patients to her peers, the initiative she displayed made everyone she touched better. This annual award is dedicated to the memory of Kristine Schell and has been instituted to encourage the type of passionate clinical excellence that she displayed.

Past Recipients:

2022 – Destinee Grove, MS, LAT, ATC

2021 Kris Schell Award Winner

2021 – Jamie Findeiss, MOT, OTR/L, CHT

Butler Hill

Kris Schell Award 2020

2020 – Alicia Schwipps, PT, DPT, OCS, Clinic Manager

West Lafayette

2019 – Matt Gauthier, PT, DPT, SCS

Niles-NW Chicago

2018 – Adam Fritsch, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT,


2017 – Molly Runquist, PT, DPT, Astym-cert, COMT

Iowa City West


2016 – Jayne Markum-Scanlan, PT, DPT, COMT, FAAOMPT



2015 – Chantell Unnerstall, OTR/L, CHT


Scott Gallant_KrisSchellAward

2014 – Scott Gallant, PT, COMT, FAAOMPT

South County



2013 – Brian Freund, MPT, CSMT, MBA

St. Peters


2012 – Cindy Rajkovich, MA, ATC, CSCS


Find an Athletico.